sapphire02's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Hello everyone! Long time no write...
Image hosting by Photobucket

I thought I'd update my diary with the birth story of Hannah. She was born on Feb 17th. 8lbs 1oz 20in long.

I'm feeling okay, very shaky in my head. My blood sugar is really low, my blood pressure is high. Not the best feeling in the world. However, after a brief but intense sobbing as I stepped into the house, my spirits are somewhat better now. When they warned us in lamaze class that women will often weep and wail due to the sudden change in hormones they weren't kidding. It happened so fast that it caught me off guard. I guess it was taking a look at this house and all of it's problems, and then the added responsibility of already being a mother. It dawned on me, that I was going to need some help. Or at least to moved out of this house.

Anyways, like I said, I'm better now. So I'll give you the scoop on what "D" day was like. I know Brandon posted his version, but mine is from a different point of view. :)

After posting about my water breaking. I calmly went around getting things ready. I wasn't having any contractions as of yet, so I thought they'd perhaps start in the next few hours. i'd have to sit down every few mins. or change pads, as the water kept pouring out. It was one of the strangest feelings ever.
I had maybe two big contractions before we headed out the door to take th ekids to the hospital. I told Brandon that we'd just call the Dr. office at 9:00 a.m. to let him know. I knew that one's water could break up to 24 hours before you had to be admitted. Brandon wouldn't hear of it. So I compromised and said that I'd go with him to the Drs. on the way back from dropping off the kids.
At about 8:15 contractions became a little stronger. Not very regular yet. I was able to still laugh and talk, but I noticed that I was beginning to get irritable. I just wanted to close my eyes and zone out. First sure sign that labor was on it's way.
After dropping the kids off, we headed for Brandon's job to pick up his check. Now I was sure that labor had begun. With each contraction, I felt more water gush, and I just wanted to get home. I just about started crying, thinking that Brandon needed to hurry the heck up so I could go and lie down.
Second sign that labor had started..I get weepy.

We drove over my Dr.'s office, which is reight across the street from the hospital. They told us that the Dr. was in fact at the hospital, so go ahead and go over.
While I was signing papers at the admissions desk, I began to hurt, I found myself standing on tippy-toes, trying to relieve some of the pressure from my back. The nurse wheeled me into the elevator and we headed to the third floor.
I changed into a gown, suddenly feeling very shivery, I sat down to go to the bathroom, praying that I did whatever I had to do, remember how I've always stated that one of my biggest fears was going "poop" on myself during labor, the other was epidurals and catheters (I'll get to that in a min). I didn't go no. 2 but I did pee and have more of my water gush. I never realized just how much was actually inside of us.
By the time I had settled into bed, something , I didn't want to do anymore, my contractions were about 2-3 mins apart. I don't like lying down, because of the pressure it puts on your back. The nurse wanted to strap me to a fetal monitor however, so in the bed I went.
The Dr. came in and checked me. Poor Dr. got sprayed with the last my water, causing him to jump back and me to laugh. I was dilated 5 centimeters. That was fast considering only 30 mins had gone by. Hannah hadn't even dropped when I had noticed the pop earlier (stubborn girl)

After a few minutes, oh at about 9:30 a.m. I told Brandon that I feel incredible pressure. That means pushing was getting closer. I had started "losing my mind" at that point. First words out of my mouth was "Sorry"
Goodness, I was sorry for everything, I was even saying sorry for saying sorry. Brandon would just laugh.
The nurse came in and I told her I felt like I had to push. She checked me, I was 7-8 centimeters I think. She told me to wait a little longer.
I tell you what. Through most of my labor, I was pushing holding Hannah in, doing Kegals to prevent her from coming so soon. That threw my lamaze breathing all off.
"I can't find that wave the teacher talked about." I told Brandon, "I keep trying to rise above it, and hold it in all at the same time."
From that point on I was a laughing hyena. I don't know why I do that. I started laughing and snorting like crazy. Everything was funny, I couldn't think straight and couldn't form a single sentence without bursting into laughter. I kept trying to tell Brandon about the reply had left on my journal that morning. That I had too many poppy seeds and was now high. Only I couldn't remember what they were called.
The nurse gave me something to "relax" my muscles. It didn't take away the pain, but it did make me sleepy. I felt like I had been trippin on pot and was now coming off my high. I kept asking Brandon if I had been asleep long. He'd say no, that I had only been quiet for a few moments.
10:30 No more...laughter was gone..I was hurting and ready for business. I asked the Dr. if it was time to push, he said after one more contraction. Man oh man. It hurt so bad. I tried to hold off from pushing and breath again. It wasn't working, again I asked if I could push. The nurse checked me and said that I could. I was said "Yes!" only the contraction was gone. So I waited a few seconds for the next one.

I suddenly forgot how to do it. I think my face must have shown that cause the nurse asked me if I knew how.

"No". I exclaimed. Brandon helped me hold my knees, I could figure that out for the life of me. My mind wouldn't process anything.
I started noticing that Brandon had been watching my monitor closely. It turns out my blood pressure shot up to 170 something over 109. Not good. All I could think of was that I didn't feel weird. I guess they all quietly began to panic worried that I'd seize or stroke.
The Dr. sat in front of me and the nurse on the other side. The had to tell me how to breathe again. I'm sure it was all screwed up from trying to hold back earlier. The Dr. told me to wait a minute and he gave me a shot of something.
Right In The Vagina..back in the muscle. That hurt worse than the contractions. Brandon said that I tried to crawl away from the Dr. whimpering as he pushed this needle that was longer than a foot in length. He couldn't figure out how I did, cause whatever the Dr. stuck me with had paralyzed my legs.
It finally kicked in at about 11:00 just how I was supposed to push. I bore down, going past the pain, past the burning sensation and dove right into the hurt. I heard them telling me to keep going, as the baby's head was emerging. If she was that close, then I had to get her out. I was tired of being in labor. So when they told me to take another breath, I didn't, I just kept on pushing. I guess I must have tore just a little then. Not that I cared at all. (I did later)

11: 04 a.m. Two hours after staring labor, out the baby came, instantly all of the pain went away. It was like one big orgasm. I felt great. The nurse placed her on my chest but I had a really hard time keeping my eyes open long enough to look at her. I saw Brandon cut the cord from the corner of my eye before I took notice that Hannah was a girl.
The Dr. talked as he sewed, I remember thinking "How grand, I didn't feel the needle this time" I only needed two stitches, as I tore in my urethra(Ouch..for later on!) He then stuck a long tube inside me to drain me of pee for testing. He wanted to see if I had protein in my urine. I guess I didn't, so they were satisfied that I was not hypertensive. (I am not, especially after looking at the pictures that Brandon took, my face, fingers and ankles are so bloated it's not even funny).

Hannah is adorable, she looks a lot like Brandon, from the nose up. Her chin is mine. Her facial expressions are definitely his. Her eyes look like the may go dark...they are a very dark blue right now. Then again, so was Shayla's. Her hair is light brown, like Brandon and Shayla's. I can tell it will be curly.

Anyways, I can't remember what else I was going to type, so I'll save for another time. Thank you for all of your well wishes. It was nice to see so many replies in my inbox.

Image hosting by Photobucket

5:35 p.m. - 2006-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

evangeline06
fleshandbone
aqualimestar
dimstar
luxelady
anadoll
dissolving