sapphire02's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

911

First of all let me go back and tell you what happened. It's something going around and a lot of you on my friends list have small children.

Hannah was fine all yesterday day, and then towards her bed-time I noticed that she was just lying on the floor next to Lil' Brandon. I figured she was just extra tired.
She went to sleep pretty quickly, and I just counted myself lucky. I was online talking with Brandon while he was at work, when about 12:39 I heard her whimper. I got up and checked. She asked to breast-feed. I turned her away and took her into the kitchen to get milk.
Well, when I gave her the milk, she complained that it was cold. That's when I noticed something was not quite right. She was sort of trembling. She would smiled really sweet like and then say hi give me a kiss, and close her eyes. I took her temp, it was 101. I brought her into the room where I keep my computer to keep an eye on her. I cooled her off with a wash cloth.

She lay there for awhile just looking at me. That made me even more concerned because she never just lays there. I picked her up and she gave me another kiss, this time I let her breast-feed. She wouldn't drink the milk from the bottle, but she did nurse.
I put her down and then wrote to Brandon and let him know what was going on. I thought about putting her into the bathtub, but something held me back..like it would cause more problems if I did. That's when I heard two loud gasps and looked at her, she was staring up at the ceiling, with a horribly frightened expression on her face. I called out her name, and she didn't respond. The next thing I knew, she was seizing.

I picked her up, because she was lying next Isaiah. I held her, thinking it was gonna pass...Lil' Brandon used to do that when he spiked a temp.. but after 5 minutes I noticed it was getting worse. I looked really close at her face and saw that her lips were blue and she was gasping for air. She was not exhaling at all.

I called 911.

It took 10 mins for the ambulance to get there, the whole time she was convulsing. Maybe about 30 sec. before the pulled up, she just went limp. I was so afraid she had stopped breathing completely. She was, but it was raspy. You know, like a wheezing noise? She went completly limp, and her eyes were fixated on nothing.

They came in and loaded her up into the van and I woke the kids...all the while trying to e-mail Brandon what was going on.
We rushed to the hospital, with me following behind. They didn't have their lights on until half way to the hospital. That's when I finally panicked. I thought for sure something happened. I had been watching the guy in the back of the van and he wasn't doing anything major, but when the lights come on, he sat down really fast.
I could have killed them...it turned out they were only saying hi to a passing ambulance van.

We got to the hospital and Hannah was lying on a bed. She was so pale and still. I tried to talk to her, but she didn't know who I was. The older kids got scared at that point. I felt more at home there, considering I work in that setting everyday. I knew that she was okay, just out of it.

They had to put a catheter in her, (Brandon had left the radio station by that point) and Brandon and I held her down while they put that in her. She cried in pain. Tyson came and got the kids to take them back home.
It was 3:00 by this time.

After they ran tests, they confirmed she had an afebrile seizure. The direct result of having her temp go up so quickly. They let us take her home.

She woke up this morning, pale as a ghost and hot. She wasn't responding to me talking to her, so I knew that her blood sugar had crashed. Fevers will burn your glycogen stores...and she's hypoglycemic like I am. I gave her tylenol and she promptly threw up. I gave her more and we got some of Isaiah's formula. She hadn't eaten since lunch the day before so I figured it would help her.

She went back to sleep.

Her pediatrician made me question if I had done the right thing. I felt stupid for calling 911, because,
It's only dangerous if the temp gets over 104 and they seize for 15 mins!

Well, screw you...there is no manual on our kids stomachs to tell us the "guidelines"

Like I said, I didn't get scared until she turned blue from not breathing.
I'm just scared that the ambulance co. will write the trip up wrong and it not be deemd as a emergency, causing us to have an enormous bill.

So that's my prayer request for today...

I did get an e-mail from my sister-in-law. Her infant son has been running a temp and he had been over our house. He just developed a rash over his body so she's taking him in tomorrow. I'll watch Hannah really close to make sure she doesn't get that too. Hopefully it's just from heat and not the measles. I know there was an outbreak not too long ago here.
I'll check when I go into work tomorrow. We find out everything first.

12:43 a.m. - 2007-08-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

evangeline06
fleshandbone
aqualimestar
dimstar
luxelady
anadoll
dissolving