sapphire02's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sept 14, 2007

You died 4 years ago tonight. In five minutes, I would have been overcome with weeping, my heart suddenly broke and I didn't know why. I sat in a parking lot and cried out because it hurt so bad.

An hour later they called to say that you had passed away.

For 2 years I carried the guilt that you died alone. I had promised myself that I would be there. I remember thinking that night, while at the store, that I hoped you didn't go then, cause I wouldn't be able to drive. I was too busy getting drunk. My ex had been terribly cruel and I wanted to escape.

2 years ago I learned that you did not pass alone. You see, they had been kind enough to let my grandmother share the hospital room with you. She was out of it but no matter...you were with her. They told me you climbed into her bed and held her close.You hadn't been able to walk in a month, but Jesus gave you the strength to get up one last time. You whispered that you loved her, and told her goodbye. You crawled back into your bed(with the nurses watching in silence at the door) and took our Lord's hand.

4 years ago, I screamed silently that it wasn't fair. I wanted to go to..yet here I am still.

Today, I remember. My heart weeps, but not from unbearable sadness...rather from the sheer amazment of it all. I am so in awe of you. I look at my husband and hope that we too will love each other that much in our end years.

Tonight, I cry...wishing I could see your face one more time. That you could tell me it's really going to be okay. Tell me that you are sorry for the horrible memories that your special house held and tell me that it was not in vain.

I love you dearest, grandfather.

11:54 p.m. - 2007-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

evangeline06
fleshandbone
aqualimestar
dimstar
luxelady
anadoll
dissolving